Southern Fiber Reads

Mini-Book Review: The Words of Extraordinary Women

Posted on: January 18, 2011

“Put your ear down to close to your soul and listen hard.”  – Anne Sexton

“I don’t need a man to validate my existence.  The most profound relationship we’ll ever have is the one with ourselves.”  – Shirley MacLaine

“In th end, it’s not what you do for your children but what you’ve taught them to do for themselves.”  – Ann Landers

“If love is the answer, could you rephrase the question?” – Lily Tomlin

Quote lover and compiler Carolyn Warner gives readers much to think about within the pages of The Words of Extraordinary Women.  I have always loved quotes, and I enjoy using them in everyday conversation.  These quotes are funny, sobering, saddening, and wise.  From Politics to Education to Family, the words of women through the years have helped direct children and adults alike, changed policies, and changed lives.  Pick up this book today to discover the words of many different women through the ages.  You’ll find that we do know what we’re talking about!  Happy Reading!

  • Hardcover: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Newmarket Press (June 8, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1557048568
  • ISBN-13: 978-1557048561

Legal Necessities:  I received this book for free from Newmarket Press.


2 Responses to "Mini-Book Review: The Words of Extraordinary Women"

I would love to read this one…I’ve seen some of these quotes. I really admire these women.

I really enjoyed this book. There are so many inspiring quotes, and some of them come from women that you’d least expect! It was a great read!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

FCC DISCLAIMER

The books on this blog have been sent to me directly by either the publisher or the author. I paid nothing for these books. I received them free of charge in exchange for my honest review. I received the books only - no monetary compensation was given or received by either me nor the author or publisher. The copies I review are considered review copies or Advance Reader Copies. I will note in each post if I received a copy of the book for free from either the publisher or the author. If no such notation is made, then I purchased the book myself, was given a copy of the book by someone I know, or I checked out a copy from my local library. I am displaying this disclaimer in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flower Power Ratings

Follow Me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

2011 Reading Challenges

Upcoming Review from Thomas Nelson Publishers

Upcoming Review from Waterbrook Multnomah

Visits Since December 17, 2010

  • 1,319 Visited Southern Fiber Reads
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

