Southern Fiber Reads

Book Review: Talking to the Dead

Posted on: September 23, 2009

Have you ever lost someone you loved so deeply you had no idea what to do with yourself in their absence?  I can answer for myself and say that I have, and more than likely you have, too.   Bonnie Grove reveals this overwhelming and inescapable grief in her book Talking to the Dead.

Kate Davis is a newly widowed 20-something who struggles with her grief in such a severe way that I hurt for her myself.  In the months following her husband’s death,  Kate begins to hear her dead husband talking to her and eventually screaming at her, which sends her to the breaking point in her sanity.  Learning dark secrets about her dead husband does not help, either.

Kate tries to find a way out of her sadness and disconnected mind through a series of shrinks, as well as a support group.  She eventually meets a pastor named Jack who tries his hardest to help Kate understand that there is a God that truly, truly loves her and wants to call Kate His.

This book gives a thorough and transparent view of not only grief, but a soul desperately searching for some form of relief.  Grove forces the reader to stare grief in the eyeballs in her book – and I applaud her for it.

I found myself feeling sad, alone, frightened, and angry, right along with Kate.  Bonnie Grove has written an incredible novel that has left me feeling breathless and refreshed.  I honestly don’t remember the last time I had such a wonderful journey through a book.

I recommend this selection highly!  Please, please read it.  I know I cannot wait to read my next Bonnie Grove book.

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: David C. Cook
  • ISBN-10: 1434766411
  • ISBN-13: 978-1434766410

**Legal Necessities:  I received this book from a fellow book review blogger as a featured review on her site.  She received this book for free from Bonnie Grove.

4 Responses to "Book Review: Talking to the Dead"

I am glad that you finished your first book. I still can’t believe how fast you gobbled it up! WTG on your first review! Much love!

I’m thrilled you enjoyed Talking to the Dead. Thank you for your wonderful review.
I’m honored to be the first book review. Thanks for that too!
Bonnie Grove

I am honored to be among those you call friends. Wonderful review! I am looking forward to reading more.

To God be the glory forever amen.

[…] Bonnie Grove book. Reviewed by: Emily LaVigne (VesselProject Guest Book Review Blogger) Source: Book Review:  Talking to the Dead Find Emily LaVigne’s reviews here:  […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

FCC DISCLAIMER

The books on this blog have been sent to me directly by either the publisher or the author. I paid nothing for these books. I received them free of charge in exchange for my honest review. I received the books only - no monetary compensation was given or received by either me nor the author or publisher. The copies I review are considered review copies or Advance Reader Copies. I will note in each post if I received a copy of the book for free from either the publisher or the author. If no such notation is made, then I purchased the book myself, was given a copy of the book by someone I know, or I checked out a copy from my local library. I am displaying this disclaimer in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
September 2009
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Flower Power Ratings

Follow Me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

2011 Reading Challenges

Upcoming Review from Thomas Nelson Publishers

Upcoming Review from Waterbrook Multnomah

Visits Since December 17, 2010

  • 1,618 Visited Southern Fiber Reads
