Southern Fiber Reads

Book Review: Bo’s Cafe

Posted on: September 28, 2009

bos-cafeSteven Kerner thought he had it all together, but his wife and daughter knew better.  His coworkers knew better.  Even the guy sitting beside him at the bar knew better.  But in Steven’s mind, he had all the success and fortune he had dreamed about, and for him, that’s all that mattered.

Then he blows up at his wife and she kicks him out.  Steven’s seemingly perfect life all of a sudden comes crashing down around him.  Where can Steven turn?

In Bo’s Cafe, John Lynch, Bill Thrall, and Bruce McNicol reveal the heartaches and emptiness that often accompanies worldly successful executives who are content to join in the rat race and continually climb the proverbial ladder.

Turns out the guy beside him at the bar, Andy, may have a way to get Steven’s life straightened out.  Steven thinks Andy looks like the local president of the Parrothead Club, but begrudgingly tries to forge a friendship with the stranger.

Through a series of conversations with Andy and Andy’s friends, Steven discovers that his life really wasn’t all that he had convinced himself it was.  Steven had pushed everyone, including himself, away from his true self.  Even Steven couldn’t figure out what was causing all of his problems.  Will Steven discover what it will take to get his family, and his life, back?

This novel reveals that worldly success may not be the answer to everything, and may not even be the answer to anything, for that matter.  I highly recommend this novel.  I learned some things about myself, not just through Steven and Andy, but through the others as well.  It is an incredible story, and I fell blessed after reading it and I believe you will, too.  Pick up a copy as soon as you can – you will not regret it!

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Windblown Media (September 25, 2009)
  • ISBN-10: 193517004X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1935170044

**Legal Necessities:  I received this book free of charge from Windblown Media.

1 Response to "Book Review: Bo’s Cafe"

Awesome.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

FCC DISCLAIMER

The books on this blog have been sent to me directly by either the publisher or the author. I paid nothing for these books. I received them free of charge in exchange for my honest review. I received the books only - no monetary compensation was given or received by either me nor the author or publisher. The copies I review are considered review copies or Advance Reader Copies. I will note in each post if I received a copy of the book for free from either the publisher or the author. If no such notation is made, then I purchased the book myself, was given a copy of the book by someone I know, or I checked out a copy from my local library. I am displaying this disclaimer in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
September 2009
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Flower Power Ratings

Follow Me on Twitter!

2011 Reading Challenges

Upcoming Review from Thomas Nelson Publishers

Upcoming Review from Waterbrook Multnomah

Visits Since December 17, 2010

  • 1,639 Visited Southern Fiber Reads
