Southern Fiber Reads

Book Blog Hop

Posted on: December 19, 2010

Book Blogger Hop

I love blogging about books! Crazy For Books is a blog that I enjoy reading as well. She reviews some awesome books, and is always totally honest in her reviews. She is passionate about reading, just like I am, and wants to share her love of reading with other readers, just like I do.

Jennifer at crazy-for-books.com has created a great way for readers, book lovers, and book reviewers to network and find other great blogs about books. She calls it the Book Blogger Hop! Click on the button above and head over to her site to add your book blog to her linky list. Then, cruise through the other link to find other book blogs you may not have seen yet, or reacquaint yourself with a book blog you may have read in the past. Either way, you’re sure to have a blast as you peruse the blogs of other book lovers like yourself and find some great new books to read.

This week’s question comes from Geek on the Brink:

“What do you consider the most important in a story: the plot or the characters?”

Honestly, I don’t think I can pick between the two. The plot is what drives the story, and the plot is what gives you the “what comes next?” thoughts. The plot is what drives the story – you are reading the book to see how it ends, and for great books, even if you can’t wait to finish them and find out what happens, you savor everything that happens along the way in the plot. That said, you can’t have a good plot without well fleshed out characters. Deep characters that are well rounded and real, as well as easy to relate to, are the vehicle for a good plot. They go hand in hand, so really, if a book doesn’t have a good plot, you know you don’t have good characters, and if a book has poor characters, you know you won’t have a good plot. They are too hand in hand for me to make a decision.

This

Click on the button above and have fun!

2 Responses to "Book Blog Hop"

Hopping by from the blog hop…first-time visitor…nice blog.

Lots of good answers to this week’s tough question.

Stop by my blog to see my answer to this week’s question.

Also check out a design site I found…pretty neat home decorating ideas…it is in the right side panel on my blog.

http://silversolara.blogspot.com

Happy Holidays!!

Thanks! I enjoyed thinking about the question, and it almost made my brain hurt. There are so many great answers to this question – it’s interesting to see how everyone else feels about character v. plot. Heading to your blog now to check it out!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

FCC DISCLAIMER

The books on this blog have been sent to me directly by either the publisher or the author. I paid nothing for these books. I received them free of charge in exchange for my honest review. I received the books only - no monetary compensation was given or received by either me nor the author or publisher. The copies I review are considered review copies or Advance Reader Copies. I will note in each post if I received a copy of the book for free from either the publisher or the author. If no such notation is made, then I purchased the book myself, was given a copy of the book by someone I know, or I checked out a copy from my local library. I am displaying this disclaimer in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Flower Power Ratings

Follow Me on Twitter!

2011 Reading Challenges

Upcoming Review from Thomas Nelson Publishers

Upcoming Review from Waterbrook Multnomah

Visits Since December 17, 2010

  • 1,639 Visited Southern Fiber Reads
