Southern Fiber Reads

Wondrous Words Wednesday, and book news!

Posted on: December 22, 2010

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a word meme hosted by Bermuda Onion, and it celebrates fun, wondrous, and sometimes surprising words for you to use in your daily vocabulary.  The words you see when you follow this meme will be new to the person posting the word, and you will often find unique and unusual  sounding words.  Get ready to start using these words and impress your friends and coworkers, leaving them befuddled as to what you’re talking about.

I often love words that are fun to say – words that make your tongue roll or your lips tingle when you try to pronounce them.  Here are my two words for the week:

Tatterdemalion: (n) A shabbily dressed person.  I won’t roll down my car window for a tatterdemalion.

bibliobibuli – (n) those who read too much.  Friends of book bloggers will often describe us as bibliobibuli.
Here’s to Wondrous Words Wednesday!  For my new readers, I plan on posting a meme a week.  This week is unusual, as I am returning to book review blogging and have no new material to post.  I did receive six books in the mail today (yes, you heard that right – six) so I will be doing a good bit of reading over the holidays and posting new material shortly!  Stay tuned!!!


Tags: , ,

2 Responses to "Wondrous Words Wednesday, and book news!"

Those are both fabulous words, but neither one of them rolls off of my tongue. I’m sure more than one person thinks I’m a bibliobibuli. Thanks for playing along.

Haha! I guess they don’t exactly roll off the tongue, but they’re really fun to pronounce. I love words, and I love trying to pronounce new words. I had a lot of fun with this meme!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

FCC DISCLAIMER

The books on this blog have been sent to me directly by either the publisher or the author. I paid nothing for these books. I received them free of charge in exchange for my honest review. I received the books only - no monetary compensation was given or received by either me nor the author or publisher. The copies I review are considered review copies or Advance Reader Copies. I will note in each post if I received a copy of the book for free from either the publisher or the author. If no such notation is made, then I purchased the book myself, was given a copy of the book by someone I know, or I checked out a copy from my local library. I am displaying this disclaimer in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Flower Power Ratings

Follow Me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

2011 Reading Challenges

Upcoming Review from Thomas Nelson Publishers

Upcoming Review from Waterbrook Multnomah

Visits Since December 17, 2010

  • 1,618 Visited Southern Fiber Reads
